Alcohol shipping laws in Alaska
We list 3 Alaska rules on shipping wine, beer and spirits to consumers; 1 is a ban.
Check a specific item for AlaskaAlaska
Permit neededProducers may ship wine, beer or spirits to Alaska consumers only with a Manufacturer Direct Shipment License from the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (AMCO).
AS 04.09.370 · effective Aug 23, 2024 · draft
Exact text
Sec. 04.09.370. Manufacturer direct shipment license. (a) A manufacturer direct shipment license authorizes the holder of a brewery retail license issued under AS 04.09.320 , winery retail license issued under AS 04.09.330 , or distillery retail license issued under AS 04.09.340 , or the holder of a manufacturer license issued in another state, to sell the holder's product in response to an order for shipment to a person, for personal use only and not for resale, who is located in the state. A manufacturer direct shipment license may not be transferred to another person or another location. (b) The biennial fee for a manufacturer direct shipment license is $200. (c) An applicant for issuance or renewal of a manufacturer direct shipment license shall (1) submit an application on a form prescribed by the board; (2) consent to the jurisdiction of the board, the Department of Revenue, and any other state agency or state court concerning enforcement of this title; and (3) if the applicant is the holder of a license or permit authorizing the holder to manufacture and sell its product to the public issued in another state, provide to the board a copy of the holder's license or permit issued (A) in the state; and (B) by the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau. (d) All product shipped to a purchaser in the state by the holder of a manufacturer direct shipment license is subject to the state excise tax. (e) The holder of a manufacturer direct shipment license may not (1) ship product to an address with a zip code located in an area that has adopted a local option under AS 04.11.491 ; (2) sell more than (A) 1.5 liters of distilled spirits to a purchaser in one transaction or more than 4.5 liters of distilled spirits to a purchaser in a calendar year; (B) 18 liters of wine to a purchaser in one transaction or more than 108 liters of wine to a purchaser in a calendar year; or (C) 288 ounces of brewed beverages to a purchaser in one transaction or more than 13.5 gallons of brewed beverages to a purchaser in a calendar year; (3) ship its product using a common carrier who is not approved by the board to ship alcoholic beverages to persons in the state under AS 04.09.750 (b); or (4) annually produce more than 300,000 barrels in total of brewed beverages or more than 50,000 proof gallons in total of distilled spirits. (f) Before shipping an order under this section, the holder of a manufacturer direct shipment license shall (1) verify that the person submitting the order is at least 21 years of age, using an age verification service or other method, and that the named recipient of the shipment, if not the same person as the person submitting the order, is at least 21 years of age; (2) determine that the order will not exceed the limits of (e)(2) of this section; (3) provide written or electronic information to the person submitting the order on fetal alcohol syndrome and fetal alcohol effects resulting from a woman's consumption of alcohol during pregnancy; and (4) label the shipping container as containing alcoholic beverages and requiring a signature by a person who is at least 21 years of age upon delivery. (g) The holder of a manufacturer direct shipment license shall (1) retain records of sales made under this license for at least two years; and (2) make records of sales available for inspection and audit by the board and the Department of Revenue. (h) The board shall compile a list that is available for public inspection of zip codes that are located within a local option area and notify the holder of a manufacturer direct shipment license of any change to the list. (i) The holder of a manufacturer direct shipment license commits the offense of failure to comply with the terms of a manufacturer direct shipment license if the person fails to comply with (e) — (g) of this section. (j) Failure to comply with the terms of a manufacturer direct shipment license is a violation.
BannedOut-of-state retailers may not sell or ship alcohol to Alaska consumers: online sales are allowed only for Manufacturer Direct Shipment licensees and Alaska package stores with a shipping endorsement.
AS 04.16.022 · draft
Exact text
Sec. 04.16.022. Online sale and purchase of alcoholic beverages. (a) A licensee or a licensee's agent or employee may not sell or offer to sell alcoholic beverages to the public online unless the licensee holds a manufacturer direct shipment license issued under AS 04.09.370 or a package store shipping endorsement under AS 04.09.460 . (b) A person may not purchase alcoholic beverages online except from the holder of a manufacturer direct shipment license issued under AS 04.09.370 or a package store shipping endorsement under AS 04.09.460 . (c) A person who violates (a) of this section is, upon conviction, guilty of a class A misdemeanor. (d) A person who violates (b) of this section is guilty of a violation.
21+Alcohol may be sold or delivered in Alaska only to buyers 21 or older.
AS 04.16.051(a) · draft
Exact text
(a) A person may not furnish or deliver an alcoholic beverage to a person under the age of 21 years. This subsection does not apply to a licensee or an agent or employee of a licensee while working on licensed premises.
Federal
These apply in every state.
BannedNever ship wine, beer or spirits by USPS: all alcoholic beverages are nonmailable under federal law.
18 U.S.C. 1716(f) · draft
Exact text
§1716. Injurious articles as nonmailable ... (f) All spirituous, vinous, malted, fermented, or other intoxicating liquors of any kind are nonmailable and shall not be deposited in or carried through the mails. ... (June 25, 1948, ch. 645, 62 Stat. 781; May 8, 1952, ch. 246, 66 Stat. 67; June 29, 1955, ch. 224, 69 Stat. 191; Pub. L. 85–268, Sept. 2, 1957, 71 Stat. 594; Pub. L. 85–623, §5, Aug. 12, 1958, 72 Stat. 562; Pub. L. 91–375, §6(j)(25), Aug. 12, 1970, 84 Stat. 779; Pub. L. 92–191, §1, Dec. 15, 1971, 85 Stat. 647; Pub. L. 99–570, title X, §10003, Oct. 27, 1986, 100 Stat. 3207–167; Pub. L. 103–322, title VI, §60003(a)(7), title XXXIII, §330016(1)(H), Sept. 13, 1994, 108 Stat. 1969, 2147; Pub. L. 104–294, title VI, §607(g), Oct. 11, 1996, 110 Stat. 3511; Pub. L. 107–273, div. B, title IV, §4002(b)(2), (6), Nov. 2, 2002, 116 Stat. 1807; Pub. L. 109–435, title X, §1008(d), Dec. 20, 2006, 120 Stat. 3261.)
Permit neededFedEx carries wine to consumers only for licensed shippers approved under a signed FedEx Alcohol Shipping Agreement, with adult signature.
Exact text
Only FedEx-approved, licensed alcohol shippers that have entered into a FedEx Alcohol Shipping Agreement may ship alcohol via FedEx services. Consumers may not ship alcohol of any type via FedEx services. For all alcohol shipments, you’ll need to sign a FedEx Alcohol Shipping agreement. Contact your FedEx account executive for details and assistance and if you don't have an assigned account executive, call FedEx Customer Services at 1.800.463.3339. Adult signature service option. State law, as well as FedEx policy, requires an adult signature at the time of delivery for every U.S. package containing alcohol. It is your responsibility to ensure the adult signature requirement service option is selected so that FedEx requests and obtains the required adult signature. A $5.75 fee per shipment applies for this service.
BannedDo not ship beer or spirits to consumers by FedEx: FedEx carries only wine direct to consumers.
Exact text
FedEx currently only permits wine shipments under licensee-to-consumer agreements; beer and spirits require licensee-to- licensee. Licensee-to-consumer FedEx only transports wine licensee-to-consumer.
Permit neededUPS carries wine, beer and spirits only for licensed shippers that have signed the UPS Agreement for Approved Wine/Beer/Spirits Shippers, with adult signature.
UPS: How To Ship Wine · draft
Exact text
UPS only accepts packages containing wine from shippers who are licensed under applicable law and who have signed and entered into a contract with UPS for the transportation of wine. All wine shippers must enter into a UPS Agreement for Approved Wine Shippers. All alcohol shippers must schedule a consultation call or speak to their Account Manager to review UPS alcohol shipping policies, submit copies of your state licenses, and complete a shipping agreement. The ability to ship wine depends upon the nature of the shipper's license to sell wine, and the laws of the destination states. UPS permits the following types of wine shipments: Shipments of wine from licensed shippers may be shipped to licensed consignees, where permitted by applicable law. For example, a licensed manufacturer may ship to a licensed distributor, or a licensed distributor may ship to a licensed retailer, so long as the shipments are made in accordance with applicable law. "Licensed to Licensed" shipments cannot be made to consumers. All wine shipments must be made using the UPS Delivery Confirmation Adult Signature Required service, requiring the signature of an adult 21 years of age or older upon delivery. Some states also allow shipments of wine from out-of-state licensed wine retailers to consumers. These states are known as "Retailer Direct Shipment States." Shipments of wine from licensed out-of-state retailers may be made to consignees in "Retailer Direct Shipment States" subject to all of the conditions applicable to Winery Direct Shipment States, except that the purchase is made from a licensed out-of-state retailer rather than a winery. Refer to Addendum A for approved Retailer Direct Shipment States. All shippers who wish to ship wine must enter into either the UPS Agreement for Approved Wine Shippers, or the UPS Wine Industry Fulfillment House Agreement For Approved Wine Shippers. UPS DOES NOT ACCEPT SHIPMENTS OF WINE FROM SHIPPERS WHO HAVE NOT ENTERED INTO ONE OF THESE AGREEMENTS.