State Law Check

Laws by state › Arkansas

Stun gun laws in Arkansas

We follow 1 Arkansas rule on stun guns.

Check a specific item for Arkansas

Arkansas

19+Do not sell or ship stun guns or Tasers to Arkansas buyers 18 or younger; buyers must be at least 19.
Exact text
AN ACT TO RESTRICT THE SALES AND USE OF TASER
STUN GUNS; AND FOR OTHER PURPOSES.
...
SECTION 1.  Arkansas Code Title 5, Chapter 73, Subchapter 1 is amended
to add an additional section to read as follows:
5-73-133.  Possession of a taser stun gun.
(a)  As used in this section, "taser stun gun" means any device that is
powered by electrical charging units such as batteries and emits an
electrical charge in excess of twenty thousand (20,000) volts or is otherwise
capable of incapacitating a person by an electrical charge.
(b)(1)  No person who is eighteen (18) years of age or under may
purchase or possess a taser stun gun.
(2)  No person shall sell, barter, lease, give, rent, or
otherwise furnish taser stun gun to a person who is eighteen (18) years of
age or under.
(c) Any law enforcement officer using a taser stun gun shall be
properly trained in the use of the taser stun gun and informed of any danger
or risk of serious harm and injury that may be caused by the use of the taser
stun gun on a person.
(d)(1)  A person who violates subsection (b)(1) of this section shall
be deemed guilty of an unclassified misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not
less than five hundred dollars ($500) nor more than one thousand dollars
($1,000).
(2)  A person who violates subsection (b)(2) of this section
shall be deemed guilty of a Class B felony.
...
APPROVED:  4/13/2005