State Law Check

Laws by state › California

Pepper spray laws in California

We follow 4 California rules on pepper spray; 3 are bans.

Check a specific item for California

California

18+Pepper spray / tear gas may not be sold or furnished to a minor in California; require the buyer to be 18 or older.
Cal. Penal Code § 22810 · effective Jan 1, 2019 · draft
Exact text
[Cal. Penal Code § 22810] Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any person may purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon for the projection or release of tear gas if the tear gas or tear gas weapon is used solely for self-defense purposes, subject to the following requirements:
(a)No person convicted of a felony or any crime involving an assault under the laws of the United States, the State of California, or any other state, government, or country, or convicted of misuse of tear gas under subdivision (g), shall purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon.
(b)No person addicted to any narcotic drug shall purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon.
(c)No person shall sell or furnish any tear gas or tear gas weapon to a minor.
(d)No minor shall purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon.
(e)(1)No person shall purchase, possess, or use any tear gas weapon that expels a projectile, or that expels the tear gas by any method other than an aerosol spray, or that contains more than 2.5 ounces net weight of aerosol spray.
(2)Every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased, possessed, and used pursuant to this section shall have a label that states: “WARNING: The use of this substance or device for any purpose other than self-defense is a crime under the law. The contents are dangerous — use with care.”
(3)After January 1, 1984, every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased, possessed, and used pursuant to this section shall have a label that discloses the date on which the useful life of the tear gas weapon expires.
(4)Every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased pursuant to this section shall be accompanied at the time of purchase by printed instructions for use.
(f)Effective March 1, 1994, every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased, possessed, and used pursuant to this section shall be accompanied by an insert including directions for use, first aid information, safety and storage information, and explanation of the legal ramifications of improper use of the tear gas container or tear gas product.
(g)(1)Except as provided in paragraph (2), any person who uses tear gas or any tear gas weapon except in self-defense is guilty of a public offense and is punishable by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 for 16 months, or two or three years or in a county jail not to exceed one year or by a fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both the fine and imprisonment.
(2)If the use is against a peace officer, as defined in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of Part 2, engaged in the performance of official duties and the person committing the offense knows or reasonably should know that the victim is a peace officer, the offense is punishable by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 for 16 months or two or three years or by a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both the fine and imprisonment.
(Amended by Stats. 2011, Ch. 15, Sec. 538.   (AB 109)   Effective April 4, 2011.   Amending action operative October 1, 2011, by Sec. 636 of Ch. 15, as amended by Stats. 2011, Ch. 39, Sec. 68.   Section operative January 1, 2012, pursuant to Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 10.)

[Cal. Penal Code § 17240] (a)As used in this part, “tear gas” applies to and includes any liquid, gaseous or solid substance intended to produce temporary physical discomfort or permanent injury through being vaporized or otherwise dispersed in the air.
(b)Notwithstanding subdivision (a), “tear gas” does not apply to, and does not include, any substance registered as an economic poison as provided in Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 12751) of Division 7 of the Food and Agricultural Code, provided that the substance is not intended to be used to produce discomfort or injury to human beings.
(Added by Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 6.   (SB 1080)   Effective January 1, 2011.   Operative January 1, 2012, by Sec. 10 of Ch. 711.)

[Cal. Penal Code § 17250] As used in this part, “tear gas weapon” applies to and includes:
(a)Any shell, cartridge, or bomb capable of being discharged or exploded, when the discharge or explosion will cause or permit the release or emission of tear gas.
(b)Any revolver, pistol, fountain pen gun, billy, or other form of device, portable or fixed, intended for the projection or release of tear gas, except those regularly manufactured and sold for use with firearm ammunition.
(Added by Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 6.   (SB 1080)   Effective January 1, 2011.   Operative January 1, 2012, by Sec. 10 of Ch. 711.)

[Cal. Penal Code § 22815] (a)Notwithstanding subdivision (d) of Section 22810, a minor who has attained the age of 16 years may purchase and possess tear gas or a tear gas weapon pursuant to this division if the minor is accompanied by a parent or guardian, or has the written consent of a parent or guardian.
(b)Notwithstanding subdivision (c) of Section 22810, a person may sell or furnish tear gas or a tear gas weapon to a minor who has attained the age of 16 years and who is accompanied by a parent or guardian, or who presents a statement of consent signed by the minor’s parent or guardian.
(c)Any civil liability of a minor arising out of the minor’s use of tear gas or a tear gas weapon other than for self-defense is imposed upon the parent, guardian, or other person who authorized the provision of tear gas to a minor by signing a statement of consent or accompanying the minor, as specified in subdivision (b). That parent, guardian, or other person shall be jointly and severally liable with the minor for any damages proximately resulting from the negligent or wrongful act or omission of the minor in the use of the tear gas or a tear gas weapon.
(Amended by Stats. 2018, Ch. 185, Sec. 5.   (AB 2176)   Effective January 1, 2019.)
BannedDo not ship to California pepper spray / tear gas devices that hold more than 2.5 oz net weight, fire a projectile, or dispense by any method other than an aerosol spray.
Cal. Penal Code § 22810(e)(1) · effective Jan 1, 2012 · draft
Exact text
[Cal. Penal Code § 22810] Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any person may purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon for the projection or release of tear gas if the tear gas or tear gas weapon is used solely for self-defense purposes, subject to the following requirements:
(a)No person convicted of a felony or any crime involving an assault under the laws of the United States, the State of California, or any other state, government, or country, or convicted of misuse of tear gas under subdivision (g), shall purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon.
(b)No person addicted to any narcotic drug shall purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon.
(c)No person shall sell or furnish any tear gas or tear gas weapon to a minor.
(d)No minor shall purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon.
(e)(1)No person shall purchase, possess, or use any tear gas weapon that expels a projectile, or that expels the tear gas by any method other than an aerosol spray, or that contains more than 2.5 ounces net weight of aerosol spray.
(2)Every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased, possessed, and used pursuant to this section shall have a label that states: “WARNING: The use of this substance or device for any purpose other than self-defense is a crime under the law. The contents are dangerous — use with care.”
(3)After January 1, 1984, every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased, possessed, and used pursuant to this section shall have a label that discloses the date on which the useful life of the tear gas weapon expires.
(4)Every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased pursuant to this section shall be accompanied at the time of purchase by printed instructions for use.
(f)Effective March 1, 1994, every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased, possessed, and used pursuant to this section shall be accompanied by an insert including directions for use, first aid information, safety and storage information, and explanation of the legal ramifications of improper use of the tear gas container or tear gas product.
(g)(1)Except as provided in paragraph (2), any person who uses tear gas or any tear gas weapon except in self-defense is guilty of a public offense and is punishable by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 for 16 months, or two or three years or in a county jail not to exceed one year or by a fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both the fine and imprisonment.
(2)If the use is against a peace officer, as defined in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of Part 2, engaged in the performance of official duties and the person committing the offense knows or reasonably should know that the victim is a peace officer, the offense is punishable by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 for 16 months or two or three years or by a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both the fine and imprisonment.
(Amended by Stats. 2011, Ch. 15, Sec. 538.   (AB 109)   Effective April 4, 2011.   Amending action operative October 1, 2011, by Sec. 636 of Ch. 15, as amended by Stats. 2011, Ch. 39, Sec. 68.   Section operative January 1, 2012, pursuant to Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 10.)

[Cal. Penal Code § 22900] Any person, firm, or corporation who within this state knowingly sells or offers for sale, possesses, or transports any tear gas or tear gas weapon, except as permitted under the provisions of this division, is guilty of a public offense and upon conviction thereof shall be punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for not exceeding one year or by a fine not to exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment.
(Added by Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 6.   (SB 1080)   Effective January 1, 2011.   Operative January 1, 2012, by Sec. 10 of Ch. 711.)
BannedDo not ship to California pepper spray / tear gas devices that hold more than 2.5 oz net weight, fire a projectile, or dispense by any method other than an aerosol spray.
Cal. Penal Code § 22810(e)(1) · effective Jan 1, 2012 · draft
Exact text
[Cal. Penal Code § 22810] Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any person may purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon for the projection or release of tear gas if the tear gas or tear gas weapon is used solely for self-defense purposes, subject to the following requirements:
(a)No person convicted of a felony or any crime involving an assault under the laws of the United States, the State of California, or any other state, government, or country, or convicted of misuse of tear gas under subdivision (g), shall purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon.
(b)No person addicted to any narcotic drug shall purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon.
(c)No person shall sell or furnish any tear gas or tear gas weapon to a minor.
(d)No minor shall purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon.
(e)(1)No person shall purchase, possess, or use any tear gas weapon that expels a projectile, or that expels the tear gas by any method other than an aerosol spray, or that contains more than 2.5 ounces net weight of aerosol spray.
(2)Every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased, possessed, and used pursuant to this section shall have a label that states: “WARNING: The use of this substance or device for any purpose other than self-defense is a crime under the law. The contents are dangerous — use with care.”
(3)After January 1, 1984, every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased, possessed, and used pursuant to this section shall have a label that discloses the date on which the useful life of the tear gas weapon expires.
(4)Every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased pursuant to this section shall be accompanied at the time of purchase by printed instructions for use.
(f)Effective March 1, 1994, every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased, possessed, and used pursuant to this section shall be accompanied by an insert including directions for use, first aid information, safety and storage information, and explanation of the legal ramifications of improper use of the tear gas container or tear gas product.
(g)(1)Except as provided in paragraph (2), any person who uses tear gas or any tear gas weapon except in self-defense is guilty of a public offense and is punishable by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 for 16 months, or two or three years or in a county jail not to exceed one year or by a fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both the fine and imprisonment.
(2)If the use is against a peace officer, as defined in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of Part 2, engaged in the performance of official duties and the person committing the offense knows or reasonably should know that the victim is a peace officer, the offense is punishable by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 for 16 months or two or three years or by a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both the fine and imprisonment.
(Amended by Stats. 2011, Ch. 15, Sec. 538.   (AB 109)   Effective April 4, 2011.   Amending action operative October 1, 2011, by Sec. 636 of Ch. 15, as amended by Stats. 2011, Ch. 39, Sec. 68.   Section operative January 1, 2012, pursuant to Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 10.)

[Cal. Penal Code § 22900] Any person, firm, or corporation who within this state knowingly sells or offers for sale, possesses, or transports any tear gas or tear gas weapon, except as permitted under the provisions of this division, is guilty of a public offense and upon conviction thereof shall be punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for not exceeding one year or by a fine not to exceed two thousand dollars ($2,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment.
(Added by Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 6.   (SB 1080)   Effective January 1, 2011.   Operative January 1, 2012, by Sec. 10 of Ch. 711.)
BannedDo not ship to California pepper spray that lacks the California-required warning label, expiration date, instructions/insert, or manufacturer name and serial number.
Cal. Penal Code § 22810(e)(2)-(4), (f); § 22905 · effective Jan 1, 2012 · draft
Exact text
[Cal. Penal Code § 22905] Each tear gas weapon sold, transported, or possessed under the authority of this division shall bear the name of the manufacturer and a serial number applied by the manufacturer.
(Added by Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 6.   (SB 1080)   Effective January 1, 2011.   Operative January 1, 2012, by Sec. 10 of Ch. 711.)

[Cal. Penal Code § 22810] Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any person may purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon for the projection or release of tear gas if the tear gas or tear gas weapon is used solely for self-defense purposes, subject to the following requirements:
(a)No person convicted of a felony or any crime involving an assault under the laws of the United States, the State of California, or any other state, government, or country, or convicted of misuse of tear gas under subdivision (g), shall purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon.
(b)No person addicted to any narcotic drug shall purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon.
(c)No person shall sell or furnish any tear gas or tear gas weapon to a minor.
(d)No minor shall purchase, possess, or use tear gas or any tear gas weapon.
(e)(1)No person shall purchase, possess, or use any tear gas weapon that expels a projectile, or that expels the tear gas by any method other than an aerosol spray, or that contains more than 2.5 ounces net weight of aerosol spray.
(2)Every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased, possessed, and used pursuant to this section shall have a label that states: “WARNING: The use of this substance or device for any purpose other than self-defense is a crime under the law. The contents are dangerous — use with care.”
(3)After January 1, 1984, every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased, possessed, and used pursuant to this section shall have a label that discloses the date on which the useful life of the tear gas weapon expires.
(4)Every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased pursuant to this section shall be accompanied at the time of purchase by printed instructions for use.
(f)Effective March 1, 1994, every tear gas container and tear gas weapon that may be lawfully purchased, possessed, and used pursuant to this section shall be accompanied by an insert including directions for use, first aid information, safety and storage information, and explanation of the legal ramifications of improper use of the tear gas container or tear gas product.
(g)(1)Except as provided in paragraph (2), any person who uses tear gas or any tear gas weapon except in self-defense is guilty of a public offense and is punishable by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 for 16 months, or two or three years or in a county jail not to exceed one year or by a fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both the fine and imprisonment.
(2)If the use is against a peace officer, as defined in Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 830) of Title 3 of Part 2, engaged in the performance of official duties and the person committing the offense knows or reasonably should know that the victim is a peace officer, the offense is punishable by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 for 16 months or two or three years or by a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both the fine and imprisonment.
(Amended by Stats. 2011, Ch. 15, Sec. 538.   (AB 109)   Effective April 4, 2011.   Amending action operative October 1, 2011, by Sec. 636 of Ch. 15, as amended by Stats. 2011, Ch. 39, Sec. 68.   Section operative January 1, 2012, pursuant to Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 10.)

[Cal. Penal Code § 22910] (a)Any person who changes, alters, removes, or obliterates the name of the manufacturer, the serial number, or any other mark of identification on any tear gas weapon is guilty of a public offense and, upon conviction, shall be punished by imprisonment pursuant to subdivision (h) of Section 1170 or by a fine of not more than two thousand dollars ($2,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment.
(b)Possession of any such weapon upon which the same shall have been changed, altered, removed, or obliterated, shall be presumptive evidence that such possessor has changed, altered, removed, or obliterated the same.
(Amended by Stats. 2011, Ch. 15, Sec. 539.   (AB 109)   Effective April 4, 2011.   Amending action operative October 1, 2011, by Sec. 636 of Ch. 15, as amended by Stats. 2011, Ch. 39, Sec. 68.   Section operative January 1, 2012, pursuant to Stats. 2010, Ch. 711, Sec. 10.)

Federal

Applies in every state.

BannedDo not mail via USPS a spray or device containing more than 2 percent CN/CS tear gas by mass (or bulk tear gas substance); devices with 2 percent or less tear gas are classed as aerosols and are mailable by surface (flammable) or air/surface (nonflammable) under Pub 52 Appendix A.
Exact text
346.24 Nonmailable Division 6.1 Toxic Substances
...
Irritating Materials: All irritating materials are nonmailable. Examples include the following:
Bromobenzyl cyanide (UN1694).
Chloroacetophenone (UN1697).
Diphenylamine chloroarsine (UN1698).
Diphenylchloroarsine (UN1699).
Tear gas (UN1700, NA1693, and UN1693), except for those containing oleoresin capsicum.