State Law Check

Laws by state › Delaware

Alcohol shipping laws in Delaware

We follow 4 Delaware rules on shipping wine, beer and spirits to consumers; 2 are bans.

Check a specific item for Delaware

Delaware

Permit neededSince Aug. 15, 2026, wineries may ship wine to Delaware households only with a Wine Direct Shipper License from the Office of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner (max 3 nine-liter cases per household per year).
4 Del. C. 526 · draft
Exact text
526. Direct shipping of wine [Effective until Aug. 15, 2030].
...
(a) Notwithstanding § 501 of this title, upon proper application and subject to the applicable provisions, restrictions and prohibitions of this title, the Commissioner may grant a wine direct shipper license to any person who is a farm winery as defined by § 512A of this title or a manufacturer, as determined by the Commissioner, that would qualify for a license under § 512A of this title if the manufacturer were physically located in this State.
(b) A person who is licensed as a wine direct shipper under this section may ship up to 3 9-liter cases of wine annually to a household located in this State if a member of the household is at least 21 years of age and the wine is for the household’s personal use and not for resale.
...
(2) Ship more than 3 9-liter cases of wine annually to any household for the household’s personal use.
(3) Ship any wine for resale.
(4) Ship more than 1,800 9-liter cases into this State per year under this section. A direct shipper licensee that ships into Delaware 1,800 9-liter cases in 1 year will have its direct shipper license cancelled by the Commissioner and must apply for a supplier license pursuant to § 501 of this title.
(5) Ship wine if they are currently represented in this State by a licensed importer/wholesaler. This shall include wineries that are a subsidiary of a larger wine manufacturer or a supplier licensed pursuant to § 501 of this title that is listed in a licensed importer/wholesaler’s current price publication designated by the Commissioner. All licensed importers/wholesalers shall provide in the manner and timing as required by the Commissioner, monthly price lists that include the manufacturers, names of the products, and any identifying SKU numbers. The Commissioner will remove proprietary price information before posting the importer/wholesaler’s monthly lists on the Office of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Commissioner’s publicly-available webpage.
...
(e) A wine direct shipper licensee must:
(1) Deliver wine for shipment into this State only to a common carrier who has a common carrier license issued by the Commissioner as provided in § 527 of this title.
(2) Ensure that all containers of wine shipped directly to a resident of this State are conspicuously labeled with the words “CONTAINS ALCOHOL: SIGNATURE OF INDIVIDUAL AGE 21 OR OLDER REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY”. Upon delivery, the carrier delivery person shall be required to scan, and retain as proof of age verification, the required state-issued driver’s license or state-issued identification card.
...
2. Pay to the Division of Revenue monthly, or as otherwise required by regulations promulgated by the Commissioner, all excise taxes due on sales to residents of this State at the rate set forth in § 581(d) of this title. The amount of such taxes must be calculated as if the sale were in this State at the location where delivery is made.
BannedOut-of-state retailers may not ship alcohol to Delaware consumers: selling alcohol in Delaware without a Delaware license is a crime, and the direct shipper license is for wineries only.
Exact text
Whoever:
(4) Not being the holder of a proper and valid license, or not being so authorized by this title, sells any alcoholic liquor in this State; or
BannedBreweries and distilleries may not ship beer or spirits to Delaware consumers: there is no beer or spirits direct-shipper license.
Exact text
(b) If alcoholic liquor is to be shipped by a distillery or manufacturer to a place within this State, the distillery or manufacturer may sell it only to the Commissioner or under the published rules of the Commissioner and the distillery or manufacturer shall in every case comply with every other applicable provision of this title.
21+Alcohol may be sold or shipped in Delaware only to buyers 21 or older.
Exact text
(a) (1) Whoever sells any alcoholic liquor to any person who has not reached the age of 21 years, or sells to any person of more than such age any alcoholic liquor knowing that such alcoholic liquor is bought for a person who is less than 21 years of age and is to be drunk by the latter, shall, in addition to the payment of costs, be fined not less than $250 nor more than $500 and, on failure to pay such fine and costs, shall be imprisoned for 30 days.

Federal

Applies in every state.

BannedNever ship wine, beer or spirits by USPS: all alcoholic beverages are nonmailable under federal law.
Exact text
§1716. Injurious articles as nonmailable
...
(f) All spirituous, vinous, malted, fermented, or other intoxicating liquors of any kind are nonmailable and shall not be deposited in or carried through the mails.
...
(June 25, 1948, ch. 645, 62 Stat. 781; May 8, 1952, ch. 246, 66 Stat. 67; June 29, 1955, ch. 224, 69 Stat. 191; Pub. L. 85–268, Sept. 2, 1957, 71 Stat. 594; Pub. L. 85–623, §5, Aug. 12, 1958, 72 Stat. 562; Pub. L. 91–375, §6(j)(25), Aug. 12, 1970, 84 Stat. 779; Pub. L. 92–191, §1, Dec. 15, 1971, 85 Stat. 647; Pub. L. 99–570, title X, §10003, Oct. 27, 1986, 100 Stat. 3207–167; Pub. L. 103–322, title VI, §60003(a)(7), title XXXIII, §330016(1)(H), Sept. 13, 1994, 108 Stat. 1969, 2147; Pub. L. 104–294, title VI, §607(g), Oct. 11, 1996, 110 Stat. 3511; Pub. L. 107–273, div. B, title IV, §4002(b)(2), (6), Nov. 2, 2002, 116 Stat. 1807; Pub. L. 109–435, title X, §1008(d), Dec. 20, 2006, 120 Stat. 3261.)
Permit neededFedEx carries wine to consumers only for licensed shippers approved under a signed FedEx Alcohol Shipping Agreement, with adult signature.
Exact text
Only FedEx-approved, licensed alcohol shippers that have entered into a FedEx Alcohol Shipping Agreement may ship alcohol via FedEx services. Consumers may not ship alcohol of any type via FedEx services.
For all alcohol shipments, you’ll need to sign a FedEx Alcohol Shipping agreement. Contact your FedEx account executive for details and assistance and if you don't have an assigned account executive, call FedEx Customer Services at 1.800.463.3339.
Adult signature service option. State law, as well as FedEx policy, requires an adult signature at the time of delivery for every U.S. package containing alcohol. It is your responsibility to ensure the adult signature requirement service option is selected so that FedEx requests and obtains the required adult signature. A $5.75 fee per shipment applies for this service.
BannedDo not ship beer or spirits to consumers by FedEx: FedEx carries only wine direct to consumers.
Exact text
FedEx currently only permits wine shipments under licensee-to-consumer agreements; beer and spirits require licensee-to- licensee.
Licensee-to-consumer
FedEx only transports wine licensee-to-consumer.
Permit neededUPS carries wine, beer and spirits only for licensed shippers that have signed the UPS Agreement for Approved Wine/Beer/Spirits Shippers, with adult signature.
Exact text
UPS only accepts packages containing wine from shippers who are licensed under applicable law and who have signed and entered into a contract with UPS for the transportation of wine.
All wine shippers must enter into a UPS Agreement for Approved Wine Shippers.
All alcohol shippers must schedule a consultation call or speak to their Account Manager to review UPS alcohol shipping policies, submit copies of your state licenses, and complete a shipping agreement.
The ability to ship wine depends upon the nature of the shipper's license to sell wine, and the laws of the destination states. UPS permits the following types of wine shipments:
Shipments of wine from licensed shippers may be shipped to licensed consignees, where permitted by applicable law. For example, a licensed manufacturer may ship to a licensed distributor, or a licensed distributor may ship to a licensed retailer, so long as the shipments are made in accordance with applicable law. "Licensed to Licensed" shipments cannot be made to consumers.
All wine shipments must be made using the UPS Delivery Confirmation Adult Signature Required service, requiring the signature of an adult 21 years of age or older upon delivery.
Some states also allow shipments of wine from out-of-state licensed wine retailers to consumers. These states are known as "Retailer Direct Shipment States." Shipments of wine from licensed out-of-state retailers may be made to consignees in "Retailer Direct Shipment States" subject to all of the conditions applicable to Winery Direct Shipment States, except that the purchase is made from a licensed out-of-state retailer rather than a winery. Refer to Addendum A for approved Retailer Direct Shipment States.
All shippers who wish to ship wine must enter into either the UPS Agreement for Approved Wine Shippers, or the UPS Wine Industry Fulfillment House Agreement For Approved Wine Shippers. UPS DOES NOT ACCEPT SHIPMENTS OF WINE FROM SHIPPERS WHO HAVE NOT ENTERED INTO ONE OF THESE AGREEMENTS.