Pepper spray laws in Florida
We list 1 Florida rule on pepper spray.
Check a specific item for FloridaFlorida
18+Sell chemical sprays holding more than 2 oz of chemical to Florida buyers only if 18 or older: above 2 oz a spray is not a "self-defense chemical spray" but a "chemical weapon or device", i.e. a "weapon" that may not be furnished to a minor without parental permission.
Fla. Stat. § 790.17(1) · draft
Exact text
790.17 Furnishing weapons to minors under 18 years of age or persons of unsound mind and furnishing firearms to minors under 18 years of age prohibited.— (1) A person who sells, hires, barters, lends, transfers, or gives any minor under 18 years of age any dirk, electric weapon or device, or other weapon, other than an ordinary pocketknife, without permission of the minor’s parent or guardian, or sells, hires, barters, lends, transfers, or gives to any person of unsound mind an electric weapon or device or any dangerous weapon, other than an ordinary pocketknife, commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
Federal
These apply in every state.
BannedDo not mail via USPS a spray or device containing more than 2 percent CN/CS tear gas by mass (or bulk tear gas substance); devices with 2 percent or less tear gas are classed as aerosols and are mailable by surface (flammable) or air/surface (nonflammable) under Pub 52 Appendix A.
USPS Publication 52 § 346.24 (Nonmailable Division 6.1 Toxic Substances: Irritating Materials) · draft
Exact text
346.24 Nonmailable Division 6.1 Toxic Substances ... Irritating Materials: All irritating materials are nonmailable. Examples include the following: Bromobenzyl cyanide (UN1694). Chloroacetophenone (UN1697). Diphenylamine chloroarsine (UN1698). Diphenylchloroarsine (UN1699). Tear gas (UN1700, NA1693, and UN1693), except for those containing oleoresin capsicum.