State Law Check

Laws by state › Louisiana

Pepper spray laws in Louisiana

We list 1 Louisiana rule on pepper spray.

Check a specific item for Louisiana

Louisiana

18+Sell self-defense spray to Louisiana buyers only if 18 or older; R.S. 14:91 bars selling to anyone under 18 any instrumentality customarily used as a dangerous weapon, and lack of knowledge of age is no defense.
Exact text
§91. Unlawful sales of weapons to minors
A. Unlawful sales of weapons to minors is the selling or otherwise delivering for value of any firearm or other instrumentality customarily used as a dangerous weapon to any person under the age of eighteen. Lack of knowledge of the minor's age shall not be a defense.
B. Whoever commits the crime of unlawful sales of weapons to minors shall be fined not more than three hundred dollars or imprisoned for not more than six months, or both.
Amended by Acts 1972, No. 704, §1; Acts 1972, No. 768, §5; Acts 1994, 3rd Ex. Sess., No. 84, §1; Acts 1995, No. 639, §1; Acts 1996, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 78, §1.

Federal

These apply in every state.

BannedDo not mail via USPS a spray or device containing more than 2 percent CN/CS tear gas by mass (or bulk tear gas substance); devices with 2 percent or less tear gas are classed as aerosols and are mailable by surface (flammable) or air/surface (nonflammable) under Pub 52 Appendix A.
Exact text
346.24 Nonmailable Division 6.1 Toxic Substances
...
Irritating Materials: All irritating materials are nonmailable. Examples include the following:
Bromobenzyl cyanide (UN1694).
Chloroacetophenone (UN1697).
Diphenylamine chloroarsine (UN1698).
Diphenylchloroarsine (UN1699).
Tear gas (UN1700, NA1693, and UN1693), except for those containing oleoresin capsicum.