Ammunition and magazine laws in Maryland
We follow 3 Maryland rules on ammunition and magazines; 1 is a ban.
Check a specific item for MarylandMaryland
BannedDo not sell or ship detachable magazines holding more than 10 rounds to Maryland buyers.
Md. Code, Crim. Law § 4-305 · draft
Exact text
(a) This section does not apply to: (1) a .22 caliber rifle with a tubular magazine; or (2) a law enforcement officer or a person who retired in good standing from service with a law enforcement agency of the United States, the State, or any law enforcement agency in the State. (b) A person may not manufacture, sell, offer for sale, purchase, receive, or transfer a detachable magazine that has a capacity of more than 10 rounds of ammunition for a firearm. Previous
21+Ammunition solely designed for a regulated firearm (handguns and assault weapons) may be sold only to buyers 21 or older in Maryland.
Md. Code, Pub. Safety § 5-134(d) · draft
Exact text
(d) (1) A person may not sell, rent, or transfer: (i) ammunition solely designed for a regulated firearm to a person who is under the age of 21 years; or (ii) 1. a firearm other than a regulated firearm to a minor; 2. ammunition for a firearm to a minor; 3. pepper mace, which is an aerosol propelled combination of highly disabling irritant based products and is also known as oleo–resin capsicum (O.C.) spray, to a minor; or 4. another deadly weapon to a minor. (2) A person who violates this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding $1,000 or both.
18+Maryland bars selling any firearm ammunition to a minor (under 18).
Exact text
(d) (1) A person may not sell, rent, or transfer: ... 2. ammunition for a firearm to a minor;
Federal
Applies in every state.
18+No seller (licensed or not) may sell or deliver handgun ammunition to anyone under 18.
18 U.S.C. 922(x)(1), (x)(5) · draft
Exact text
(x)(1) It shall be unlawful for a person to sell, deliver, or otherwise transfer to a person who the transferor knows or has reasonable cause to believe is a juvenile— (A) a handgun; or (B) ammunition that is suitable for use only in a handgun. ... (5) For purposes of this subsection, the term "juvenile" means a person who is less than 18 years of age.
BannedDon't mail live ammunition, primers or gunpowder through USPS; use a ground carrier that accepts limited-quantity ammunition.
Exact text
Small Arms Ammunition: Ammunition is classified as a Division 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, or 1.4 explosive, depending on the degree of hazard. Ammunition that is regulated as a Class 1 explosive and designed to be fired from a pistol, revolver, rifle, or shotgun, as well as associated primers and blank cartridges (including those designed for tools) and propellant powder for use in any firearm, is prohibited from mailing. ... Shotgun Hulls, Empty Casings, Nonmetallic Shotgun Hulls, or Casings Without Primers: These articles are not classified as explosives or hazardous materials under 49 CFR and, therefore, are mailable, subject to the applicable mailing rules (refer to 224).