Pepper spray laws in Maryland
We follow 1 Maryland rule on pepper spray.
Check a specific item for MarylandMaryland
18+Require buyer 18+ for pepper spray shipped to Maryland; Pub. Safety 5-134(d) bars selling or transferring pepper mace (OC spray) to a minor.
Md. Code, Pub. Safety § 5-134(d) · draft
Exact text
(d) (1) A person may not sell, rent, or transfer: (i) ammunition solely designed for a regulated firearm to a person who is under the age of 21 years; or (ii) 1. a firearm other than a regulated firearm to a minor; 2. ammunition for a firearm to a minor; 3. pepper mace, which is an aerosol propelled combination of highly disabling irritant based products and is also known as oleo–resin capsicum (O.C.) spray, to a minor; or 4. another deadly weapon to a minor. (2) A person who violates this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 1 year or a fine not exceeding $1,000 or both.
Federal
Applies nationwide.
BannedDo not mail via USPS a spray or device containing more than 2 percent CN/CS tear gas by mass (or bulk tear gas substance); devices with 2 percent or less tear gas are classed as aerosols and are mailable by surface (flammable) or air/surface (nonflammable) under Pub 52 Appendix A.
USPS Publication 52 § 346.24 (Nonmailable Division 6.1 Toxic Substances: Irritating Materials) · draft
Exact text
346.24 Nonmailable Division 6.1 Toxic Substances ... Irritating Materials: All irritating materials are nonmailable. Examples include the following: Bromobenzyl cyanide (UN1694). Chloroacetophenone (UN1697). Diphenylamine chloroarsine (UN1698). Diphenylchloroarsine (UN1699). Tear gas (UN1700, NA1693, and UN1693), except for those containing oleoresin capsicum.