State Law Check

Laws by state › Massachusetts

Alcohol shipping laws in Massachusetts

We follow 4 Massachusetts rules on shipping wine, beer and spirits to consumers; 2 are bans.

Check a specific item for Massachusetts

Massachusetts

Permit neededWineries may ship wine to Massachusetts residents only with a direct wine shipper license from the Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission.
Exact text
(b)(1) The commission may issue a direct wine shipper license pursuant to this section to any person, firm or corporation that holds a: (i) federal basic permit pursuant to the federal Alcohol Administration Act, 27 U.S.C. § 201, et seq.; and (ii) license in the commonwealth or any other state to manufacture and export wine.
...
(2) Pursuant to this section, a winery licensed as a direct wine shipper may sell and deliver wine directly to residents of the commonwealth who are not less than 21 years of age for personal use and not for resale; provided, however, that a winery licensed as a direct wine shipper shall not sell at retail or deliver to residents of the commonwealth any wine or wine product not produced for or by the winery and sold under the winery's brand name.
...
(c) The fee for a license issued pursuant to this section shall be $300 per winery; provided that an affiliate, franchise or subsidiary of the winery shall require a separate license. Licenses shall be renewed annually at a fee of $150. If a direct wine shipper's license expires and is not renewed, a subsequent application shall be treated as an application for a new license. An applicant for a direct wine shipper license shall provide the commission and the department of revenue with a true copy of the applicable alcoholic beverage license to manufacture, export and sell the applicant's wine as issued by the appropriate licensing authority. A copy of the direct wine shipment license obtained pursuant to this section shall be provided by the commission to the department of revenue.
...
(d) A direct wine shipper licensee under this section shall ship wine in accordance with section 22.
...
(e) A direct wine shipper licensee may ship up to 12 cases of wine, containing not more than 9 liters of wine per case, per year to a resident of the commonwealth.
...
(f) A licensee under this section shall: (i) report yearly to the commission and the department of revenue the total number of gallons of wine shipped into the commonwealth for the preceding year; (ii) pay to the department of revenue, under the department's rules and regulations, for each shipment of wine the excise levied on importations of wine calculated under section 21 and any and all other applicable taxes; and (iii) upon request, allow the commission or the department of revenue to perform an audit of the direct shipper licensee's records.
BannedOut-of-state retailers may not ship wine to Massachusetts consumers; the direct wine shipper license is only for wine manufacturers.
Exact text
(b)(1) The commission may issue a direct wine shipper license pursuant to this section to any person, firm or corporation that holds a: (i) federal basic permit pursuant to the federal Alcohol Administration Act, 27 U.S.C. § 201, et seq.; and (ii) license in the commonwealth or any other state to manufacture and export wine.
...
(g) No person, firm or corporation shall ship wine directly to consumers without a direct wine shipper license. A person, firm or corporation who manufactures, transports, imports or exports wine in violation of this section shall be deemed to have engaged in a deceptive act or practice under chapter 93A.
BannedDo not ship beer or spirits to consumers in Massachusetts; chapter 138 authorizes direct shipment only for wine.
Exact text
Section 2. No person shall manufacture, with intent to sell, sell or expose or keep for sale, store, transport, import or export alcoholic beverages or alcohol, except as authorized by this chapter; but the provisions of this chapter shall not apply to sales, storage or transportation by a person or public officer under a provision of law which requires him to sell personal property, or to sales, storage or transportation by executors, administrators, receivers and trustees duly authorized by proper judicial order or decree, except that any receiver or trustee in bankruptcy or otherwise appointed by any court, who is authorized by said court to conduct in whole or in part any business, authority to grant a license for which is given by this chapter, or who does conduct any such business in whole or in part, shall be subject to all provisions of the sections under which their licenses were issued and to all other provisions of this chapter applicable to such business the same as if it were conducted by an individual, partnership or corporation. No alcoholic beverage which has been damaged by fire or other casualty may be offered for sale in the commonwealth and any such beverage shall be destroyed by the owner on such terms and conditions as the commission shall determine. Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, beer or other malt beverage, which has been determined by the alcoholic beverages control commission, to have been damaged by fire or other casualty shall not be offered for sale in the commonwealth and shall be destroyed by the owner on such terms and conditions as said commission shall determine. Any holder of a license under this chapter may pledge or mortgage to secure a loan or debt any alcoholic beverages or alcohol which he is authorized to sell and the pledgee or mortgagee acting in conformity with the terms of such pledge or mortgage may sell, store and transport such alcoholic beverages or alcohol subject to such conditions and restrictions as the commission may prescribe; provided, that no such pledge or mortgage shall be given or made to a person holding any interest in a business licensed under this chapter. Violation of any provision of this section shall be punished except as provided in section twenty-two by a fine of not less than one hundred nor more than one thousand dollars or by imprisonment for not more than one year, or both.
21+Sell and deliver alcohol in Massachusetts only to buyers 21 or older; carrier must get a 21+ signature and check ID.
Exact text
Section 34. No person shall receive a license or permit under this chapter who is under 21 years of age. Whoever makes a sale or delivery of any alcoholic beverage or alcohol to any person under 21 years of age, either for his own use or for the use of his parent or any other person, or whoever, being a patron of an establishment licensed under section 12 or 15, delivers or procures to be delivered in any public room or area of such establishment if licensed under section 12, 15, 19B, 19C or 19D or in any area of such establishment if licensed under said section 15, 19B, 19C or 19D any such beverages or alcohol to or for use by a person who he knows or has reason to believe is under 21 years of age or whoever procures any such beverage or alcohol for a person under 21 years of age in any establishment licensed under section 12 or procures any such beverage or alcohol for a person under 21 years of age who is not his child, ward or spouse in any establishment licensed under said section 15, 19B, 19C or 19D or whoever furnishes any such beverage or alcohol for a person under 21 years of age shall be punished by a fine of not more than $2,000 or by imprisonment for not more than one year or both. For the purpose of this section the word ''furnish'' shall mean to knowingly or intentionally supply, give, or provide to or allow a person under 21 years of age except for the children and grandchildren of the person being charged to possess alcoholic beverages on premises or property owned or controlled by the person charged. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit any person licensed under this chapter from employing any person 18 years of age or older for the direct handling or selling of alcoholic beverages or alcohol.

Federal

These apply in every state.

BannedNever ship wine, beer or spirits by USPS: all alcoholic beverages are nonmailable under federal law.
Exact text
§1716. Injurious articles as nonmailable
...
(f) All spirituous, vinous, malted, fermented, or other intoxicating liquors of any kind are nonmailable and shall not be deposited in or carried through the mails.
...
(June 25, 1948, ch. 645, 62 Stat. 781; May 8, 1952, ch. 246, 66 Stat. 67; June 29, 1955, ch. 224, 69 Stat. 191; Pub. L. 85–268, Sept. 2, 1957, 71 Stat. 594; Pub. L. 85–623, §5, Aug. 12, 1958, 72 Stat. 562; Pub. L. 91–375, §6(j)(25), Aug. 12, 1970, 84 Stat. 779; Pub. L. 92–191, §1, Dec. 15, 1971, 85 Stat. 647; Pub. L. 99–570, title X, §10003, Oct. 27, 1986, 100 Stat. 3207–167; Pub. L. 103–322, title VI, §60003(a)(7), title XXXIII, §330016(1)(H), Sept. 13, 1994, 108 Stat. 1969, 2147; Pub. L. 104–294, title VI, §607(g), Oct. 11, 1996, 110 Stat. 3511; Pub. L. 107–273, div. B, title IV, §4002(b)(2), (6), Nov. 2, 2002, 116 Stat. 1807; Pub. L. 109–435, title X, §1008(d), Dec. 20, 2006, 120 Stat. 3261.)
Permit neededFedEx carries wine to consumers only for licensed shippers approved under a signed FedEx Alcohol Shipping Agreement, with adult signature.
Exact text
Only FedEx-approved, licensed alcohol shippers that have entered into a FedEx Alcohol Shipping Agreement may ship alcohol via FedEx services. Consumers may not ship alcohol of any type via FedEx services.
For all alcohol shipments, you’ll need to sign a FedEx Alcohol Shipping agreement. Contact your FedEx account executive for details and assistance and if you don't have an assigned account executive, call FedEx Customer Services at 1.800.463.3339.
Adult signature service option. State law, as well as FedEx policy, requires an adult signature at the time of delivery for every U.S. package containing alcohol. It is your responsibility to ensure the adult signature requirement service option is selected so that FedEx requests and obtains the required adult signature. A $5.75 fee per shipment applies for this service.
BannedDo not ship beer or spirits to consumers by FedEx: FedEx carries only wine direct to consumers.
Exact text
FedEx currently only permits wine shipments under licensee-to-consumer agreements; beer and spirits require licensee-to- licensee.
Licensee-to-consumer
FedEx only transports wine licensee-to-consumer.
Permit neededUPS carries wine, beer and spirits only for licensed shippers that have signed the UPS Agreement for Approved Wine/Beer/Spirits Shippers, with adult signature.
Exact text
UPS only accepts packages containing wine from shippers who are licensed under applicable law and who have signed and entered into a contract with UPS for the transportation of wine.
All wine shippers must enter into a UPS Agreement for Approved Wine Shippers.
All alcohol shippers must schedule a consultation call or speak to their Account Manager to review UPS alcohol shipping policies, submit copies of your state licenses, and complete a shipping agreement.
The ability to ship wine depends upon the nature of the shipper's license to sell wine, and the laws of the destination states. UPS permits the following types of wine shipments:
Shipments of wine from licensed shippers may be shipped to licensed consignees, where permitted by applicable law. For example, a licensed manufacturer may ship to a licensed distributor, or a licensed distributor may ship to a licensed retailer, so long as the shipments are made in accordance with applicable law. "Licensed to Licensed" shipments cannot be made to consumers.
All wine shipments must be made using the UPS Delivery Confirmation Adult Signature Required service, requiring the signature of an adult 21 years of age or older upon delivery.
Some states also allow shipments of wine from out-of-state licensed wine retailers to consumers. These states are known as "Retailer Direct Shipment States." Shipments of wine from licensed out-of-state retailers may be made to consignees in "Retailer Direct Shipment States" subject to all of the conditions applicable to Winery Direct Shipment States, except that the purchase is made from a licensed out-of-state retailer rather than a winery. Refer to Addendum A for approved Retailer Direct Shipment States.
All shippers who wish to ship wine must enter into either the UPS Agreement for Approved Wine Shippers, or the UPS Wine Industry Fulfillment House Agreement For Approved Wine Shippers. UPS DOES NOT ACCEPT SHIPMENTS OF WINE FROM SHIPPERS WHO HAVE NOT ENTERED INTO ONE OF THESE AGREEMENTS.