Stun gun laws in Michigan
We track 1 Michigan rule on stun guns; 1 is a ban.
Check a specific item for MichiganMichigan
BannedDo not sell or ship stun guns, stun batons or Tasers to Michigan buyers: the statute bans their sale and possession, except Taser-type devices sold in person by an authorized dealer to a verified concealed pistol license holder with training.
MCL 750.224a · draft
Exact text
(1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person shall not sell, offer for sale, or possess in this state a portable device or weapon from which an electrical current, impulse, wave, or beam may be directed, which current, impulse, wave, or beam is designed to incapacitate temporarily, injure, or kill. ... (b) The possession and reasonable use of a device that uses electro-muscular disruption technology by an individual who holds a valid license to carry a concealed pistol under section 5b of 1927 PA 372, MCL 28.425, and who has been trained under subsection (5) in the use, effects, and risks of the device. ... (3) A manufacturer, authorized importer, or authorized dealer may demonstrate, offer for sale, hold for sale, sell, give, lend, or deliver a device that uses electro-muscular disruption technology to a person authorized to possess a device that uses electro-muscular disruption technology and may possess a device that uses electro-muscular disruption technology for any of those purposes. ... (4) A person who violates subsection (1) is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 4 years or a fine of not more than $2,000.00, or both. ... (5) An authorized dealer or other person who sells a device that uses electro-muscular disruption technology to an individual described in subsection (2)(b) shall verify the individual's identity and verify that the individual holds a valid concealed pistol license issued under section 5b of 1927 PA 372, MCL 28.425b, and shall provide to the individual purchasing the device, at the time of the sale, training on the use, effects, and risks of the device. A person who violates this subsection is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 30 days or a fine of not more than $500.00, or both. ... (a) "A device that uses electro-muscular disruption technology" means a device to which both of the following apply: (i) The device is capable of creating an electro-muscular disruption and is used or intended to be used as a defensive device capable of temporarily incapacitating or immobilizing a person by the direction or emission of conducted energy. (ii) The device contains an identification and tracking system that, when the device is initially used, dispenses coded material traceable to the purchaser through records kept by the manufacturer, and the manufacturer of the device has a policy of providing that identification and tracking information to a police agency upon written request by that agency.