State Law Check

Laws by state › New Hampshire

Alcohol shipping laws in New Hampshire

We list 3 New Hampshire rules on shipping wine, beer and spirits to consumers.

Check a specific item for New Hampshire

New Hampshire

Permit neededProducers and retailers may ship wine or spirits to New Hampshire consumers only with a Direct Shipper Permit from the New Hampshire Liquor Commission.
RSA 178:27, I-III · effective Jul 1, 2021 · draft
Exact text
I. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, any person currently licensed in its state of domicile as a wine manufacturer, beverage manufacturer, importer, wholesaler, or retailer shall apply for a direct shipper permit from the commission.
(b) Applicants for a direct shipper permit shall be exempt from the provision of RSA 178:1, I requiring registration with the secretary of state, if the applicant is duly organized and registered to do business under the laws of the state in which the applicant is domiciled.
II. A direct shipper may ship directly to New Hampshire consumers over 21 years of age or licensees in packages clearly marked "Alcoholic Beverages, adult signature (over 21 years of age) required." All shipments from direct shippers into the state shall be made by a licensed carrier and such carriers are required to obtain an adult signature. Direct shippers or carriers shall not ship into areas of the state where alcohol beverages may not be lawfully sold. Liquor and wine that has been registered for sale to the commission with the commission during the previous 2 months may be direct shipped only if the shipper offers to sell a matching amount to the commission at wholesale. Shipments of any other products shall be considered unlicensed shipments under the provisions of RSA 178:1, I.
III. Except with written permission of the commission, no direct shipper shall ship more than 60 individual containers of not more than one liter each of liquor and not more than 12 - 9 liter cases or equivalent of wine to any one consumer in New Hampshire in any calendar year. The commission shall only grant permission for additional shipments if the additional shipments are of products not otherwise available in New Hampshire. Furthermore, in the event any direct shipper wishes to ship more than a total of 600 liters of any particular liquor or wine directly to any combination of licensees and/or consumers in New Hampshire, the shipper shall offer to sell a matching amount to the commission or beer distributor at the lower of the wholesale price or the lowest price delivered into New Hampshire. A licensee may purchase from a direct shipper pursuant to RSA 179:32, III.
Permit neededProducers and retailers may ship beer to New Hampshire consumers only with a Direct Shipper Permit from the New Hampshire Liquor Commission (max 27 gallons per consumer per year).
RSA 178:27, IV-V · effective Jul 1, 2021 · draft
Exact text
IV. No direct shipper shall ship more than 27 gallons of beer or beverage in individual containers of not more than one liter to any licensee or consumer in New Hampshire in any calendar year.
V. (a) Direct shippers shall file reports for each shipment with the liquor commission, and shall pay a fee of 8 percent of the retail price for shipments of liquor, wine, beer, or beverage to the commission. Such reports shall be filed once per month for any month in which a shipment was made in a manner and form required by the commission and include the following information:
(1) The total amount of alcoholic beverages shipped into or within the state for the preceding month.
(2) The names and addresses of the purchasers to whom the alcoholic beverages were shipped.
(3) The date of purchase, if appropriate, the name of the common carrier used to make each delivery, and the quantity and retail value of each shipment.
(b) The commission may assess a $250 penalty for failure to report to the commission in a timely manner.
(c) Direct shippers shall maintain records for at least 3 years which will permit the commission to ascertain the truthfulness of the information filed and permit the commission to perform an audit of the direct shippers' filings upon reasonable request.
21+Alcohol may be sold and delivered only to persons 21 or older.
RSA 179:5, I · effective May 26, 2026 · draft
Exact text
I. No licensee, salesperson, direct shipper, common carrier, delivery agent, nor any other person, shall sell or give away or cause or allow or procure to be sold, delivered, or given away any liquor or beverage to a person under the age of 21, except as permitted under RSA 179:10-b, or serve an individual who is visibly intoxicated or who a reasonable and prudent person would know is intoxicated. For all deliveries of packages by common carrier or delivery agent marked "alcoholic beverages" or "alcoholic products," the carrier shall obtain an adult signature.

Federal

Applies in every state.

BannedNever ship wine, beer or spirits by USPS: all alcoholic beverages are nonmailable under federal law.
Exact text
§1716. Injurious articles as nonmailable
...
(f) All spirituous, vinous, malted, fermented, or other intoxicating liquors of any kind are nonmailable and shall not be deposited in or carried through the mails.
...
(June 25, 1948, ch. 645, 62 Stat. 781; May 8, 1952, ch. 246, 66 Stat. 67; June 29, 1955, ch. 224, 69 Stat. 191; Pub. L. 85–268, Sept. 2, 1957, 71 Stat. 594; Pub. L. 85–623, §5, Aug. 12, 1958, 72 Stat. 562; Pub. L. 91–375, §6(j)(25), Aug. 12, 1970, 84 Stat. 779; Pub. L. 92–191, §1, Dec. 15, 1971, 85 Stat. 647; Pub. L. 99–570, title X, §10003, Oct. 27, 1986, 100 Stat. 3207–167; Pub. L. 103–322, title VI, §60003(a)(7), title XXXIII, §330016(1)(H), Sept. 13, 1994, 108 Stat. 1969, 2147; Pub. L. 104–294, title VI, §607(g), Oct. 11, 1996, 110 Stat. 3511; Pub. L. 107–273, div. B, title IV, §4002(b)(2), (6), Nov. 2, 2002, 116 Stat. 1807; Pub. L. 109–435, title X, §1008(d), Dec. 20, 2006, 120 Stat. 3261.)
Permit neededFedEx carries wine to consumers only for licensed shippers approved under a signed FedEx Alcohol Shipping Agreement, with adult signature.
Exact text
Only FedEx-approved, licensed alcohol shippers that have entered into a FedEx Alcohol Shipping Agreement may ship alcohol via FedEx services. Consumers may not ship alcohol of any type via FedEx services.
For all alcohol shipments, you’ll need to sign a FedEx Alcohol Shipping agreement. Contact your FedEx account executive for details and assistance and if you don't have an assigned account executive, call FedEx Customer Services at 1.800.463.3339.
Adult signature service option. State law, as well as FedEx policy, requires an adult signature at the time of delivery for every U.S. package containing alcohol. It is your responsibility to ensure the adult signature requirement service option is selected so that FedEx requests and obtains the required adult signature. A $5.75 fee per shipment applies for this service.
BannedDo not ship beer or spirits to consumers by FedEx: FedEx carries only wine direct to consumers.
Exact text
FedEx currently only permits wine shipments under licensee-to-consumer agreements; beer and spirits require licensee-to- licensee.
Licensee-to-consumer
FedEx only transports wine licensee-to-consumer.
Permit neededUPS carries wine, beer and spirits only for licensed shippers that have signed the UPS Agreement for Approved Wine/Beer/Spirits Shippers, with adult signature.
Exact text
UPS only accepts packages containing wine from shippers who are licensed under applicable law and who have signed and entered into a contract with UPS for the transportation of wine.
All wine shippers must enter into a UPS Agreement for Approved Wine Shippers.
All alcohol shippers must schedule a consultation call or speak to their Account Manager to review UPS alcohol shipping policies, submit copies of your state licenses, and complete a shipping agreement.
The ability to ship wine depends upon the nature of the shipper's license to sell wine, and the laws of the destination states. UPS permits the following types of wine shipments:
Shipments of wine from licensed shippers may be shipped to licensed consignees, where permitted by applicable law. For example, a licensed manufacturer may ship to a licensed distributor, or a licensed distributor may ship to a licensed retailer, so long as the shipments are made in accordance with applicable law. "Licensed to Licensed" shipments cannot be made to consumers.
All wine shipments must be made using the UPS Delivery Confirmation Adult Signature Required service, requiring the signature of an adult 21 years of age or older upon delivery.
Some states also allow shipments of wine from out-of-state licensed wine retailers to consumers. These states are known as "Retailer Direct Shipment States." Shipments of wine from licensed out-of-state retailers may be made to consignees in "Retailer Direct Shipment States" subject to all of the conditions applicable to Winery Direct Shipment States, except that the purchase is made from a licensed out-of-state retailer rather than a winery. Refer to Addendum A for approved Retailer Direct Shipment States.
All shippers who wish to ship wine must enter into either the UPS Agreement for Approved Wine Shippers, or the UPS Wine Industry Fulfillment House Agreement For Approved Wine Shippers. UPS DOES NOT ACCEPT SHIPMENTS OF WINE FROM SHIPPERS WHO HAVE NOT ENTERED INTO ONE OF THESE AGREEMENTS.