Nitrous oxide laws in New Jersey
We list 2 New Jersey rules on whipped-cream chargers, nitrous oxide tanks and crackers; 1 is a ban.
Check a specific item for New JerseyNew Jersey
19+New Jersey: sell nitrous oxide (chargers, tanks, canisters) only to buyers 19 or older; non-food sales also need Department of Health permits.
N.J.S.A. 24:6G-1 to 24:6G-3 · draft
Exact text
24:6G-1. Control or possession without written permit; prohibition; exceptions It shall be unlawful for any person or persons, except a duly licensed physician, dentist, veterinarian, nurse, hospital, sanitarium or other medical institution, or a resident physician or intern of a hospital, sanitarium or other medical institution, to have under control or possess nitrous oxide in any form unless the person obtains a written permit issued by the Department of Health; except that no person under 19 years of age shall have under his control or possess nitrous oxide. ... 24:6G-2. Sale of nitrous oxide for nonmedical use 2. When nitrous oxide is sold for nonmedical use, both the seller and buyer shall obtain a written permit issued by the Department of Health; except that if the seller is registered with the Department of Health as a distributor or wholesaler of nitrous oxide or if the nitrous oxide is to be used in food preparation, the seller or buyer does not have to obtain a permit. A permit shall contain the name, address and other location of the person who requests the permit and a registration number assigned by the Department of Health. The buyer shall state the intended use of the nitrous oxide on the permit. Notwithstanding the provisions of sections 1 and 2 of this act, no person shall sell, distribute or dispense nitrous oxide to any person under 19 years of age. L.1982,c.127,s.2; amended 1992,c.179. 24:6G-3. Record of sale; duration of retention; contents; inspection Every person who sells or furnishes nitrous oxide shall retain a record of the sale for a period of 2 years. The record of the sales shall contain the name and address of the buyer, number of the buyer's permit, date of sale and amount of nitrous oxide purchased. Records shall be open to inspection by any public officer or employee engaged in the enforcement of this section.
BannedDo not ship flavored/recreational nitrous oxide to New Jersey: nitrous oxide not sold for food preparation needs Department of Health permits for both seller and buyer (unless the seller is a registered distributor/wholesaler).
Exact text
24:6G-1. Control or possession without written permit; prohibition; exceptions It shall be unlawful for any person or persons, except a duly licensed physician, dentist, veterinarian, nurse, hospital, sanitarium or other medical institution, or a resident physician or intern of a hospital, sanitarium or other medical institution, to have under control or possess nitrous oxide in any form unless the person obtains a written permit issued by the Department of Health; except that no person under 19 years of age shall have under his control or possess nitrous oxide. ... 24:6G-2. Sale of nitrous oxide for nonmedical use 2. When nitrous oxide is sold for nonmedical use, both the seller and buyer shall obtain a written permit issued by the Department of Health; except that if the seller is registered with the Department of Health as a distributor or wholesaler of nitrous oxide or if the nitrous oxide is to be used in food preparation, the seller or buyer does not have to obtain a permit. A permit shall contain the name, address and other location of the person who requests the permit and a registration number assigned by the Department of Health. The buyer shall state the intended use of the nitrous oxide on the permit. Notwithstanding the provisions of sections 1 and 2 of this act, no person shall sell, distribute or dispense nitrous oxide to any person under 19 years of age. L.1982,c.127,s.2; amended 1992,c.179. 24:6G-3. Record of sale; duration of retention; contents; inspection Every person who sells or furnishes nitrous oxide shall retain a record of the sale for a period of 2 years. The record of the sales shall contain the name and address of the buyer, number of the buyer's permit, date of sale and amount of nitrous oxide purchased. Records shall be open to inspection by any public officer or employee engaged in the enforcement of this section.