Alcohol shipping laws in Oklahoma
We follow 4 Oklahoma rules on shipping wine, beer and spirits to consumers; 2 are bans.
Check a specific item for OklahomaOklahoma
Permit neededWineries may ship wine to Oklahoma residents only with a Direct Wine Shipper's Permit from the Oklahoma ABLE Commission.
37A O.S. § 3-106(A)-(C)(8) · draft
Exact text
A. A Direct Wine Shipper's Permit may be issued by the Oklahoma ABLE Commission to a winery licensed in this or any other state within the United States as a wine producer. A Direct Wine Shipper's Permit allows a winery to ship up to six nine-liter cases of wine annually directly to an Oklahoma resident who is twenty-one (21) years of age or older for such resident's personal use and not for resale. No resident shall be permitted to purchase more than thirty nine-liter cases of wine per year under the provisions of this section. B. The ABLE Commission shall promulgate rules governing the application, issuance and renewal of Direct Wine Shipper's Permits, which shall include but not be limited to: 1. Proof of current licensure in this or any other state as a wine producer; 2. Payment of a registration fee of Three Hundred Dollars ($300.00) for original permits and One Hundred Fifty Dollars ($150.00) for renewal permits; and 3. Any other documentation that the ABLE Commission believes is reasonably necessary to verify the identity and physical location of the winery. C. With regard to direct wine shipments permitted by this section, Direct Wine Shipper permit holders: 1. Shall not ship more than six nine-liter cases of wine annually to any person for his or her personal use; 2. Shall not ship wine intended for resale; 3. Shall ensure that all packages containing wine shipped directly to a resident in this state are conspicuously labeled with the words "CONTAINS ALCOHOL: SIGNATURE OF PERSON AGE 21 OR OLDER REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY" or are conspicuously labeled with alternative wording preapproved by the ABLE Commission; 4. Shall require the transporter or common carrier that delivers the wine to obtain the signature of a person twenty-one (21) years of age or older at the delivery address at the time of delivery. At the expense of the Direct Wine Shipper, the Direct Wine Shipper shall receive a delivery confirmation from the express company, common carrier or contract carrier indicating the location of delivery and the name and signature of the individual who accepted the delivery. The ABLE Commission shall design and create a label or approve a label that must be affixed to the shipping container by the licensee; 5. Shall report to the ABLE Commission quarterly by a method prescribed by the ABLE Commission all of the following information for each wine shipment into the state pursuant to this section: a. the name and address of the Oklahoma resident who placed the order, b. the name of the common or permit carrier engaged in the shipment, c. the date of the shipment, d. the carrier tracking number, and e. the quantity of wine in the shipment; 6. Shall quarterly pay to the Oklahoma Tax Commission all applicable taxes due on sales authorized by this section to Oklahoma residents in the preceding calendar year. The amount of such taxes shall be calculated as if the sale were in Oklahoma at the location where delivery is made. Upon request, permit holders shall permit the Tax Commission to perform an audit of the permit holder's records in order to assure compliance; 7. Shall be deemed to have consented to the jurisdiction of any agency or court of the State of Oklahoma tasked with the enforcement of or adjudication of controversies related to this section and any related laws or rules; and 8. Shall require the consumer to verify, by electronic means or otherwise, that the consumer is at least twenty-one (21) years of age.
BannedOut-of-state retailers may not ship wine to Oklahoma consumers; only permitted wineries may.
37A O.S. § 3-106(C)(9) · draft
Exact text
9. Shipments of wine to consumers in Oklahoma from persons who do not possess a current Direct Wine Shipper Permit pursuant to this section are prohibited. Any person that violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to a civil penalty as follows: for the first offense shall be fined not more than One Thousand Five Hundred Dollars ($1,500.00), for a second offense shall be fined not more than Two Thousand Five Hundred Dollars ($2,500.00), and for a third and subsequent offense shall be fined not more than Five Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00).
BannedDo not ship beer or spirits to Oklahoma consumers; Oklahoma has no direct-shipper permit for breweries, distilleries or retailers.
37A O.S. § 6-101(A)(4) · draft
Exact text
§37A-6-101. Prohibited acts - Violations – Penalties. A. No person shall: ... 4. Import into this state, except as provided for in the Oklahoma Alcoholic Beverage Control Act, any alcoholic beverages; provided, that nothing herein shall prohibit the importation or possession for personal use of not more than one (1) liter of alcoholic beverages upon which the Oklahoma excise tax is delinquent;
21+Alcohol may be sold only to buyers 21 or older.
37A O.S. § 6-120(A) · draft
Exact text
A. Any person who shall sell, furnish or give alcoholic beverage to a person under twenty-one (21) years of age shall be guilty of a misdemeanor for a first violation, and upon conviction shall be fined not more than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00), or imprisoned in the county jail for not more than one (1) year, or by both such fine and imprisonment.
Federal
These apply in every state.
BannedNever ship wine, beer or spirits by USPS: all alcoholic beverages are nonmailable under federal law.
18 U.S.C. 1716(f) · draft
Exact text
§1716. Injurious articles as nonmailable ... (f) All spirituous, vinous, malted, fermented, or other intoxicating liquors of any kind are nonmailable and shall not be deposited in or carried through the mails. ... (June 25, 1948, ch. 645, 62 Stat. 781; May 8, 1952, ch. 246, 66 Stat. 67; June 29, 1955, ch. 224, 69 Stat. 191; Pub. L. 85–268, Sept. 2, 1957, 71 Stat. 594; Pub. L. 85–623, §5, Aug. 12, 1958, 72 Stat. 562; Pub. L. 91–375, §6(j)(25), Aug. 12, 1970, 84 Stat. 779; Pub. L. 92–191, §1, Dec. 15, 1971, 85 Stat. 647; Pub. L. 99–570, title X, §10003, Oct. 27, 1986, 100 Stat. 3207–167; Pub. L. 103–322, title VI, §60003(a)(7), title XXXIII, §330016(1)(H), Sept. 13, 1994, 108 Stat. 1969, 2147; Pub. L. 104–294, title VI, §607(g), Oct. 11, 1996, 110 Stat. 3511; Pub. L. 107–273, div. B, title IV, §4002(b)(2), (6), Nov. 2, 2002, 116 Stat. 1807; Pub. L. 109–435, title X, §1008(d), Dec. 20, 2006, 120 Stat. 3261.)
Permit neededFedEx carries wine to consumers only for licensed shippers approved under a signed FedEx Alcohol Shipping Agreement, with adult signature.
Exact text
Only FedEx-approved, licensed alcohol shippers that have entered into a FedEx Alcohol Shipping Agreement may ship alcohol via FedEx services. Consumers may not ship alcohol of any type via FedEx services. For all alcohol shipments, you’ll need to sign a FedEx Alcohol Shipping agreement. Contact your FedEx account executive for details and assistance and if you don't have an assigned account executive, call FedEx Customer Services at 1.800.463.3339. Adult signature service option. State law, as well as FedEx policy, requires an adult signature at the time of delivery for every U.S. package containing alcohol. It is your responsibility to ensure the adult signature requirement service option is selected so that FedEx requests and obtains the required adult signature. A $5.75 fee per shipment applies for this service.
BannedDo not ship beer or spirits to consumers by FedEx: FedEx carries only wine direct to consumers.
Exact text
FedEx currently only permits wine shipments under licensee-to-consumer agreements; beer and spirits require licensee-to- licensee. Licensee-to-consumer FedEx only transports wine licensee-to-consumer.
Permit neededUPS carries wine, beer and spirits only for licensed shippers that have signed the UPS Agreement for Approved Wine/Beer/Spirits Shippers, with adult signature.
UPS: How To Ship Wine · draft
Exact text
UPS only accepts packages containing wine from shippers who are licensed under applicable law and who have signed and entered into a contract with UPS for the transportation of wine. All wine shippers must enter into a UPS Agreement for Approved Wine Shippers. All alcohol shippers must schedule a consultation call or speak to their Account Manager to review UPS alcohol shipping policies, submit copies of your state licenses, and complete a shipping agreement. The ability to ship wine depends upon the nature of the shipper's license to sell wine, and the laws of the destination states. UPS permits the following types of wine shipments: Shipments of wine from licensed shippers may be shipped to licensed consignees, where permitted by applicable law. For example, a licensed manufacturer may ship to a licensed distributor, or a licensed distributor may ship to a licensed retailer, so long as the shipments are made in accordance with applicable law. "Licensed to Licensed" shipments cannot be made to consumers. All wine shipments must be made using the UPS Delivery Confirmation Adult Signature Required service, requiring the signature of an adult 21 years of age or older upon delivery. Some states also allow shipments of wine from out-of-state licensed wine retailers to consumers. These states are known as "Retailer Direct Shipment States." Shipments of wine from licensed out-of-state retailers may be made to consignees in "Retailer Direct Shipment States" subject to all of the conditions applicable to Winery Direct Shipment States, except that the purchase is made from a licensed out-of-state retailer rather than a winery. Refer to Addendum A for approved Retailer Direct Shipment States. All shippers who wish to ship wine must enter into either the UPS Agreement for Approved Wine Shippers, or the UPS Wine Industry Fulfillment House Agreement For Approved Wine Shippers. UPS DOES NOT ACCEPT SHIPMENTS OF WINE FROM SHIPPERS WHO HAVE NOT ENTERED INTO ONE OF THESE AGREEMENTS.