State Law Check

Laws by state › Oregon

Alcohol shipping laws in Oregon

We track 4 Oregon rules on shipping wine, beer and spirits to consumers; 1 is a ban.

Check a specific item for Oregon

Oregon

Permit neededWineries and retailers (in or out of state) may ship wine or cider to Oregon residents only with an OLCC Direct Shipper Permit.
Exact text
471.282 Direct shipper permit; fees. (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter and except as provided by ORS 471.175, 471.178 and 471.186, a person may sell and ship malt beverages, wine or cider directly to a resident of Oregon only if the person holds a direct shipper permit. The Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission shall issue a direct shipper permit only to: (a) A person that holds a license issued by this state or another state or territory of the United States that authorizes the manufacture of malt beverages, wine or cider; (b) A person that holds a license issued by this state or another state or territory of the United States that authorizes the sale of wine or cider produced only from grapes or other fruit grown under the control of the person; (c) A person that holds a license authorizing the sale of malt beverages, wine or cider at retail; or (d) A person that holds a temporary sales license under ORS 471.190, if the shipments of malt beverages, wine or cider made by the person are delivered only during the term of validity of the temporary sales license. (2)(a) A person may apply for a direct shipper permit by filing an application with the commission in a form and manner prescribed by the commission. (b) If the application is based on a license issued by another state or territory of the United States, the person shall include in the application a true copy of the license issued to the person by the other state or include sufficient information to allow verification of the license by electronic means or other means acceptable to the commission. (c) If the application is based on a license issued by another state or territory of the United States, or the application is by a person described in subsection (1)(d) of this section, the person shall pay a $100 registration fee and maintain a bond or other security described in ORS 471.155 in the minimum amount of $1,000. (3)(a) Sales and shipments of malt beverages, wine or cider under a direct shipper permit: (A) May be made only to a person who is at least 21 years of age; (B) May be made only for personal use and not for the purpose of resale; and (C) May not exceed: (i) Two cases of cider or malt beverages that contain not more than nine liters per case to any resident per month; or (ii) Five cases of wine that contain not more than nine liters per case to any resident per month. (b) Only an individual who is at least 21 years of age may receive malt beverages, wine or cider from the holder of a direct shipper permit, for the purposes and in the amount described in paragraph (a) of this subsection. (4) Sales and shipments under a direct shipper permit must be made directly to a resident of this state in containers that are conspicuously labeled with the words: “CONTAINS ALCOHOL: SIGNATURE OF PERSON AGE 21 YEARS OR OLDER REQUIRED FOR DELIVERY” or similar language adopted by the commission by rule. 
Permit neededBreweries, cider makers and retailers may ship beer or cider to Oregon residents only with an OLCC Direct Shipper Permit, max 2 cases (9 L each) of beer and cider together per resident per month.
Exact text
(5) The holder of a direct shipper permit shall take all actions necessary to ensure that a carrier used by the permit holder does not deliver any malt beverages, wine or cider unless the carrier: (a) Obtains the signature of the recipient of the malt beverages, wine or cider upon delivery; (b) Verifies by inspecting government-issued photo identification that the recipient is at least 21 years of age; and (c) Determines that the recipient is not visibly intoxicated at the time of delivery. (6) The holder of a direct shipper permit that uses a third-party delivery facilitator to make deliveries on behalf of the permit holder is not responsible for ensuring that deliveries made by the third-party delivery facilitator meet any requirements applicable to the deliveries. (7)(a) The holder of a direct shipper permit shall report to the commission on a quarterly basis all shipments of malt beverages, wine or cider made to Oregon residents under the permit. The report must be made in a form prescribed by the commission. (b) The holder of a direct shipper permit shall allow the commission to audit the permit holder’s records upon request and shall make those records available to the commission in this state. (c) The holder of a direct shipper permit consents to the jurisdiction of the commission and the courts of this state for the purpose of enforcing the provisions of this section and any related laws or rules. (8)(a) The holder of a direct shipper permit shall comply with all relevant reporting requirements and timely pay to the commission all taxes imposed under ORS chapter 473 on malt beverages, wine and cider sold and shipped under the permit. For the purpose of the privilege tax imposed under ORS chapter 473, all malt beverages, wine or cider sold and shipped pursuant to a direct shipper permit is sold in this state. (b) The holder of a direct shipper permit based on a license issued by another state or territory of the United States shall timely pay to the commission all taxes imposed under ORS chapter 473 on all malt beverages, wine or cider sold and shipped directly to Oregon residents under the permit. The permit holder, not the purchaser, is responsible for the tax. (9)(a) A direct shipper permit must be renewed annually. (b) If the person holds the permit based on an annual license issued by another state or territory of the United States, the person may renew the permit by paying a $100 renewal fee and providing the commission with a true copy of a current license issued to the person by the other state or with sufficient information to allow verification of the license by electronic means or other means acceptable to the commission. (c) If the person holds the permit based on an annual license issued by this state, the person may renew the permit at the same time that the person renews the license. (10) Any person who knowingly or negligently delivers malt beverages, wine or cider under the provisions of this section to a person under 21 years of age, or who knowingly or negligently delivers malt beverages, wine or cider under the provisions of this section to a visibly intoxicated person, violates ORS 471.410. (11) A person may not make sales and shipments of malt beverages, wine or cider directly to Oregon residents unless the person holds a direct shipper permit issued under this section. Any person who knowingly makes, participates in, transports, imports or receives a shipment of malt beverages, wine or cider that is in violation of this section commits a misdemeanor as provided in ORS 471.990 (1).
BannedDo not ship distilled spirits to Oregon consumers; Oregon is a control state and the direct shipper permit does not cover spirits.
Exact text
(2) No person shall purchase, possess, transport or import, except for sacramental purposes, an alcoholic beverage unless it is procured from or through the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission, except as provided otherwise in the Liquor Control Act. (3) No person not licensed under the Liquor Control Act shall sell, solicit, take orders for or peddle alcoholic beverages.
21+Alcohol may be sold only to buyers 21 or older.
Exact text
(2) A person other than the person’s parent or guardian may not sell, give or otherwise make available any alcoholic liquor to a person under the age of 21 years.

Federal

Applies nationwide.

BannedNever ship wine, beer or spirits by USPS: all alcoholic beverages are nonmailable under federal law.
Exact text
§1716. Injurious articles as nonmailable
...
(f) All spirituous, vinous, malted, fermented, or other intoxicating liquors of any kind are nonmailable and shall not be deposited in or carried through the mails.
...
(June 25, 1948, ch. 645, 62 Stat. 781; May 8, 1952, ch. 246, 66 Stat. 67; June 29, 1955, ch. 224, 69 Stat. 191; Pub. L. 85–268, Sept. 2, 1957, 71 Stat. 594; Pub. L. 85–623, §5, Aug. 12, 1958, 72 Stat. 562; Pub. L. 91–375, §6(j)(25), Aug. 12, 1970, 84 Stat. 779; Pub. L. 92–191, §1, Dec. 15, 1971, 85 Stat. 647; Pub. L. 99–570, title X, §10003, Oct. 27, 1986, 100 Stat. 3207–167; Pub. L. 103–322, title VI, §60003(a)(7), title XXXIII, §330016(1)(H), Sept. 13, 1994, 108 Stat. 1969, 2147; Pub. L. 104–294, title VI, §607(g), Oct. 11, 1996, 110 Stat. 3511; Pub. L. 107–273, div. B, title IV, §4002(b)(2), (6), Nov. 2, 2002, 116 Stat. 1807; Pub. L. 109–435, title X, §1008(d), Dec. 20, 2006, 120 Stat. 3261.)
Permit neededFedEx carries wine to consumers only for licensed shippers approved under a signed FedEx Alcohol Shipping Agreement, with adult signature.
Exact text
Only FedEx-approved, licensed alcohol shippers that have entered into a FedEx Alcohol Shipping Agreement may ship alcohol via FedEx services. Consumers may not ship alcohol of any type via FedEx services.
For all alcohol shipments, you’ll need to sign a FedEx Alcohol Shipping agreement. Contact your FedEx account executive for details and assistance and if you don't have an assigned account executive, call FedEx Customer Services at 1.800.463.3339.
Adult signature service option. State law, as well as FedEx policy, requires an adult signature at the time of delivery for every U.S. package containing alcohol. It is your responsibility to ensure the adult signature requirement service option is selected so that FedEx requests and obtains the required adult signature. A $5.75 fee per shipment applies for this service.
BannedDo not ship beer or spirits to consumers by FedEx: FedEx carries only wine direct to consumers.
Exact text
FedEx currently only permits wine shipments under licensee-to-consumer agreements; beer and spirits require licensee-to- licensee.
Licensee-to-consumer
FedEx only transports wine licensee-to-consumer.
Permit neededUPS carries wine, beer and spirits only for licensed shippers that have signed the UPS Agreement for Approved Wine/Beer/Spirits Shippers, with adult signature.
Exact text
UPS only accepts packages containing wine from shippers who are licensed under applicable law and who have signed and entered into a contract with UPS for the transportation of wine.
All wine shippers must enter into a UPS Agreement for Approved Wine Shippers.
All alcohol shippers must schedule a consultation call or speak to their Account Manager to review UPS alcohol shipping policies, submit copies of your state licenses, and complete a shipping agreement.
The ability to ship wine depends upon the nature of the shipper's license to sell wine, and the laws of the destination states. UPS permits the following types of wine shipments:
Shipments of wine from licensed shippers may be shipped to licensed consignees, where permitted by applicable law. For example, a licensed manufacturer may ship to a licensed distributor, or a licensed distributor may ship to a licensed retailer, so long as the shipments are made in accordance with applicable law. "Licensed to Licensed" shipments cannot be made to consumers.
All wine shipments must be made using the UPS Delivery Confirmation Adult Signature Required service, requiring the signature of an adult 21 years of age or older upon delivery.
Some states also allow shipments of wine from out-of-state licensed wine retailers to consumers. These states are known as "Retailer Direct Shipment States." Shipments of wine from licensed out-of-state retailers may be made to consignees in "Retailer Direct Shipment States" subject to all of the conditions applicable to Winery Direct Shipment States, except that the purchase is made from a licensed out-of-state retailer rather than a winery. Refer to Addendum A for approved Retailer Direct Shipment States.
All shippers who wish to ship wine must enter into either the UPS Agreement for Approved Wine Shippers, or the UPS Wine Industry Fulfillment House Agreement For Approved Wine Shippers. UPS DOES NOT ACCEPT SHIPMENTS OF WINE FROM SHIPPERS WHO HAVE NOT ENTERED INTO ONE OF THESE AGREEMENTS.