Stun gun laws in Rhode Island
We list 2 Rhode Island rules on stun guns; 1 is a ban.
Check a specific item for Rhode IslandRhode Island
BannedRhode Island's statute still bans carrying or possessing a stun gun; it is permanently enjoined, so counsel must decide whether to allow sales.
R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-47-42(a)(1) · draft
Exact text
(a)(1) No person shall carry or possess or attempt to use against another any instrument or weapon of the kind commonly known as a blackjack, slingshot, billy, sandclub, sandbag, metal knuckles, slap glove, bludgeon, stun-gun, or the so called “Kung-Fu” weapons.
18+Do not sell stun guns to Rhode Island buyers under 18.
R.I. Gen. Laws § 11-47-42(b) · draft
Exact text
(b) No person shall sell to a person under eighteen (18) years of age, without the written authorization of the minor’s parent or legal guardian, any stink bomb, blackjack, slingshot, bill, sandclub, sandbag, metal knuckles, slap glove, bludgeon, stungun, ... Any person violating the provisions of this subsection shall be punished by a fine of not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) nor more than three thousand dollars ($3,000), or by imprisonment for not less than one year nor more than five (5) years, or both, and the weapons so found shall be confiscated.