Pepper spray laws in West Virginia
We track 1 West Virginia rule on pepper spray.
Check a specific item for West VirginiaWest Virginia
18+Sell pepper spray to West Virginia buyers only if 18 or older: pepper spray is listed as a "deadly weapon" (61-7-2(5), (12)), minors may not possess deadly weapons (61-7-8), and 61-7-10(b) bars selling deadly weapons to persons prohibited from possessing them.
W. Va. Code § 61-7-10(b) · draft
Exact text
(b) A person may not knowingly sell, rent, give or lend, or, where the person is other than a natural person, knowingly permit an employee thereof to knowingly sell, rent, give or lend, any deadly weapon other than a firearm to a person prohibited from possessing a deadly weapon other than a firearm by any provision of this article.
Federal
Applies in every state.
BannedDo not mail via USPS a spray or device containing more than 2 percent CN/CS tear gas by mass (or bulk tear gas substance); devices with 2 percent or less tear gas are classed as aerosols and are mailable by surface (flammable) or air/surface (nonflammable) under Pub 52 Appendix A.
USPS Publication 52 § 346.24 (Nonmailable Division 6.1 Toxic Substances: Irritating Materials) · draft
Exact text
346.24 Nonmailable Division 6.1 Toxic Substances ... Irritating Materials: All irritating materials are nonmailable. Examples include the following: Bromobenzyl cyanide (UN1694). Chloroacetophenone (UN1697). Diphenylamine chloroarsine (UN1698). Diphenylchloroarsine (UN1699). Tear gas (UN1700, NA1693, and UN1693), except for those containing oleoresin capsicum.